Once Upon A Time

Karen here! I love those words! For centuries they invoke its readers to imagine worlds of wonder, where magic is possible, and romance causes the heart to just sigh. There is a reason these stories have been around for so long, and have been retold so many times. These stories show simple truths in fantastical settings. Jealousy hurts everyone, honor and chivalry are signs of a true gentleman, and what’s inside is more important than the outward appearance. I love fairytales, and try to get my hands on as many retellings as I can. And yes, I did grow up as a Disney girl. Still love a good Disney. Why am I on a fairytale kick? Well, it might have to do with the fact that ‘Once Upon A Time’ is back!!! I love that TV show! Wonderland came on last Thursday and the original starts again Sunday. So excited! But I also have been reading a good author’s series retelling different fairytales. Jenni James is an author I recently discovered, and I love her Fairytale collection. I figured I’d review the first book in her series, the first I read, and also my all time favorite fairytale, “Beauty and the Beast”. 

I love the tale of “Beauty and the Beast”. There is something wonderful about this story. It’s one of the few fairytales where it’s not ‘love at first sight’. And this one is no exception. I love the relation between the ‘beauty’ and ‘beast’ characters. There is such great dialogue between them! Now, the werewolf as the beast isn’t a new twist, but the fact that he appears in both forms to Cecelia, as two people, that I found fascinating. And I love the strong woman, especially when she has no problem standing up to her childhood tormentor, even when he’s trying to romance her. My favorite twist? What happens when Cecelia breaks the curse, but doesn’t stay to see Alexander there? You’ll just have to read to find out. It’s so well written, the narrative and dialogue flowing seamlessly, along with wonderful characters you can’t help but root for. If you love new tellings of timeless classics, then this is definitely a series to look into.

If you’re interested in getting a copy for yourself, you can get it for both Kindle and NOOK. Or, for those like me who love a book in hand, a paperback version is also available at Amazon. You can also visit the author’s website, and follow her on Facebook and Twitter

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Once Upon A Time

  1. Aww… Thank you for the shout out! You’re wonderful. And I’m so glad you loved Beauty and the Beast.

    • Martin Readers

      Thanks for writing such wonderful stories! I also loved Sleeping Beauty and Rumplestiltskin. Can’t wait to get Cinderella in.

Leave a Reply

