Pirates meet The Scarlet Pimpernel

Karen here. This week I’m returning to my favorite author, MaryLu Tyndall, because she has recently released her newest work, The Ransom. This book is amazing! It is a special book for this author for many reasons. It’s a return to her initial series, Legacy of the King’s Pirates, both being a sequel book, and the fourth in the series. But this is the first book this author has self-published. With thirteen traditionally published novels under her belt, this seasoned author has gone back to the stories that started her career. Don’t be fooled by the fact that it’s not traditionally published, this novel is just as well written as all her other stories. 

I loved returning to the Caribbean in this novel! The vivid settings, swashbuckling rogues, damsels in distress saved by dashing heroes, I love it all! This story is no exception to her talent for spinning a great adventure, with deep characters, and a romance that’ll warm your heart. Juliana is a classic MaryLu Tyndall character, a woman who’s intelligent and strong, who has no problem standing up for those in need, even if it puts her in perilous situations. But her fiery temper causes sparks to fly when she’s saved by the Pirate Earl, a king among pirates, who demands all their respect, but who’s also charming and debonair. The scenes between these two just sizzle, and were such a delight to read. But, one can’t read this book without noting the adorably funny Lord Munthrope. Imagine Sir Percival Blakeney from The Scarlet Pimpernel and you have an idea at how much of a buffoon he is, But he’s lovable, and funny, and the center of the social scene, and everything that Juliana despises about her class. But they get thrown together, and it’s so nice to watch their relationship bloom, both subtly and sweetly. But when a spurned lover sets out to make Juliana his, she must learn to trust her heart to save those she loves. With the vivid imagery, this story transports you to another time. The story is full of action and adventure, sword fights, and sea battles. The characters are so well written, each with a mysterious past, and each with a distinctive personality of their own. And the message is so deep, a great echo of the message from The Redemption. This is definitely a must read novel by this author! 

So, now that I’ve ranting about why I love this book, how about a few words from the author? As this is a huge step in a different direction for her, I asked the author for a few minutes of her time for a couple of questions. Check out her answers:

 

1) What was it like going back to your first ‘world’ after so many years? 

It felt like I was coming home. My Legacy of the King’s Pirates series were the very first books of mine to get published. You might say they were my first loves. I love the time period. I love the setting. I love tall ships and yes, I have a thing for pirates. Always have. The good kind, of course. Not the mean ones. After I finished my trilogy I was told by my publisher “No more pirate!”  so I moved  obediently into other time periods and characters, but I always kept a longing glance toward the Caribbean. The story of The Ransom had been burning on my heart for many years. I actually proposed it several years ago as part of a new series, but my publisher chose another trilogy I had submitted. But I always kept it close, knowing some day I would write it. 
 
 
2) Was there a difference writing this story, knowing you were going to self-publish it, verses writing the novels you’ve had published more traditionally?

Yes!  I felt free. I can’t quite describe it. It was similar to the feeling I had when I wrote before I got published. Back then I wrote whatever I wanted to write. There were no rules I had to follow, no boundaries I couldn’t cross.  It took a while, but getting back to that frame of mind was such a thrill!  I hadn’t realized how much of my creativity had been stifled by the demands of traditional publishing. 

 
 
3) I have to admit, it was really nice to return to the Legacy of the King’s Pirates, almost like visiting friends you haven’t seen in a very long time. Any chance we might be seeing them again in the future?

Indeed. There’s a pretty good chance! I already have another story simmering in my brain so we shall see if it starts to heat up!  

 
Hope I intrigued y’all into a great new novel! If you’re interested, and haven’t read it yet, you can get it for $1.99 for a limited time for you Kindle and NOOK, and in Paperback. Also feel free to check out the author’s website and follow her on Twitter. And if you like her, come join the fan group on Facebook! Hope you enjoy the book as much as I did. 🙂
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pirates meet The Scarlet Pimpernel

  1. Great review, Karen! I am reading The Ransom, but even if I had never heard of it, your review would make me want to read it ASAP! 🙂 Awesome interview, too! So glad MaryLu is self-publishing since it means she gets to write what she wants.

  2. Pingback: Mega Sale on Pirate Adventures! | Warrior Readers

Leave a Reply

