Heiress of Adventure, Trouble, and Love

Hello! So, I’m a few days late. Sorry about that. But I do have a treat this week. By now, I’m sure you’ve guessed that I love regency, but there’s quite a bit of regency that feels flat. The stories rely strongly on the societal structure, focusing on the two protagonists being in separate classes and having to fight family expectations. There’s usually a dowager lady who’s strict and up-tight, think Lady Catherine from Pride and Prejudice, who’s the main reason that the heroine must fight for the hero. But sadly, that drama and angst carries the story, and can feel flat. So when I find a regency story that doesn’t just use the societal structures, but also throws in intriguing plots, perhaps even adventure and intrigue, and a bit of a mystery, I get very excited. Lately, I discovered one such author who’s stories have hooked me from the very first page: Sarah E. Ladd. Her series, Whispers on the Moors, is amazing, each of the books unique and wonderful to read. So, for the next three weeks, I’ll be reviewing each of these awesome books, starting with her first: The Heiress of Winterwood.

This story hooked me from the first page and would not let go. It is spun so wonderfully, weaving together the regency culture along with a heart-pounding, sit at the edge of your seat mystery adventure. Amelia is a wonderful character. Yes, she is an heiress of a large estate and fortune, but she also has a heart of gold. The beginning shows her at her friend’s bedside, caring for her just before her death, and then takes in her friend’s child, helping to care for the infant as if she were her own. She is born to privilege, but is willing to work, not to mention she has a lot of courage and spunk. That is a refreshing character trait, to see a woman actually fight for what she wants, to go after it herself rather than wait on others to do it for her. Then you have Graham, a naval captain, who is out of his element on land, and as a father. He is adorable in his slight clumsiness, but I love how he opens up to his infant daughter. And I love the interaction these two have! From the beginning that is genuine and mutual respect for each other, something that’s very enjoyable to watch, even when they beat heads a bit. And the supporting cast was wonderful as well! Each character was unique and gripping, and many held great surprises. This story just took one turn after another, dragging me along with eager anticipation. (And yes, this is one of those stories that I couldn’t put down until I finished it around 3am lol.) I loved the surprises, and the relationships between the multiple characters, not to mention the message of trusting God woven through it. This is definitely a book I highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a good regency-romance and adventure.

So, curious yet? You can find this book for Kindle or NOOK (along with my personal favorite: paperback), and don’t forget to check out the author’s website, and follower her on Facebook and Twitter. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did, and come back next week for the second installment: The Headmistress of Rosemere.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

